William George Prize in Poetry


This year nineteen poems submitted by fifteen students were judged anonymously by Marjorie Stelmach, author of six volumes of poems, most recently Walking the Mist (Ashland, 2021). Her work has appeared in American Literary Review, Gettysburg Review, Hudson Review, Image, Notre Dame Review, Poet Lore, Prairie Schooner, and others.

First prize: “Lost Films” by Corey Lyles

Second prize: “Persimmons” by Henry Koeller

Honorable Mention: “September 20” by Jacob Hammond
Honorable Mention: “Accutane & Adderall” by Philip Hiblovic
Honorable Mention: “Orion’s Belt” by Corey Lyles


The William George Prize in Poetry—named for English teacher Bill George, whose poems have moved the SLUH community with their wit, their honesty, and their generous good will—is given annually to recognize excellence in student poetry.