Notable Alumni


Our SLUH librarians maintain a list of books published by SLUH alumni. The list is downloadable as a PDF file below. Additions and updates are always welcome. Please e-mail Lynne Casey with additions or corrections.

>>>DOWNLOAD: List of SLUH Alumni Authors


  • Jack Boehm '44, former President and CEO of Valvoline Oil Company
  • Don Brandt '72, CEO of Pinnacle West, the largest electric utility company in Arizona
  • Kevin P. Mansell '70, President of Kohl's Department Stores
  • Stephen Pelletier '71, President of Prudential Annuities
  • George A. Schaefer '46, retired CEO of Caterpillar Inc.
  • John T. Schuessler '69, retired Chairman of the Board and CEO of Wendy's International
  • Thomas R. Voss '65, retired President and Chief Executive Officer of Ameren Corporation


  • Chris Albers '86, Emmy Award-winning comedy writer
  • Michael Beugg '81, Academy Award nominated movie producer
  • Dave Giuntoli '98, actor, star of NBC series Grimm, the movie 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi, and ABC series A Million Little Things
  • James Gunn '84, filmmaker and screenwriter, well known as director and writer of Guardians of the Galaxy movie series
  • Brian Gunn '88, screenwriter
  • Matt Gunn '90, writer for HBO show Real Time with Bill Maher
  • Sean Gunn '92, actor
  • George Hickenlooper '82, award-winning filmmaker
  • Robert Hyland '36, radio executive who created the talk radio format
  • Ken Kwapis '75, film and TV director
  • Dan Potthast '91, ska musician and member of MU330, named after the class in which its constituents met
  • Hubert Schlafly '37, inventor of the teleprompter
  • Timothy J. Sexton '78, Academy Award-nominated screenwriter


  • Terry Bracy '60, former Assistant Secretary of Transportation who has managed many important legislative campaigns and represented a long list of prestigious interests
  • Richard T. Bradley, P.E. '83, current president of the Board of Public Service for the City of St. Louis
  • Alfonso J. Cervantes, former mayor of St. Louis
  • Joseph Darst, former mayor of St. Louis
  • Chris Goodson '87, former President of the St. Louis Police Board.
  • Raymond Gruender '81, federal judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
  • Tim Jones '89, member of Missouri House of Representatives, House Majority Leader for the 96th General Assembly, Speaker of the House (2012-15)
  • Jack Markowski '69, President of Community Investment Corporation in Chicago and former Commissioner of the Chicago Department of Housing
  • Mel Price '23, former U.S. Congressmen from southern Illinois
  • William F. Quinn '36, first governor of the state of Hawaii, and former president of Dole Pineapple
  • Eugene R. Sullivan '59, former chief judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals (Armed Forces), counsel on Richard Nixon's defense team during the Watergate hearings, and governor of Wake Island
  • Raymond Tucker '13, former mayor of St. Louis. Also, former chair of mechanical engineering at Washington University in St. Louis
  • Daniel Isom '85, former St. Louis City Chief of Police
  • George "Buzz" Westfall '62, former County Executive, and former chief prosecutor of St. Louis County


  • Jean Baptiste Charbonneau, son of Sacagawea and Toussaint Charbonneau, members of The Corps of Discovery/Lewis and Clark Expedition, pictured as an infant on the U.S. One Dollar Coin.

Humanitarianism & Activism

  • Thomas Anthony Dooley III '44, Humanitarian, medical doctor, activist, author and Congressional Gold Medal recipient. During the late 1950s he established and worked in numerous clinics in Viet Nam and Laos. The organization he helped establish (MEDICO) was later incorporated into CARE (relief agency).
  • Henry Hampton '57, Civil Rights activist, recipient of the Heinz Award, film maker, and producer of the documentary Eyes on the Prize
  • E. Michael Harrington '44, Harvard professor, author, and founder of the Democratic Socialists of America. Included among his many books is The Other America, which had a significant impact on John F. Kennedy's and Lyndon B. Johnson's administrations.
  • Max Starkloff '56, founder of Paraquad
  • Jack Warner, SJ '62, in 1979 founded Teatro la Fragua, a Theatre Group in Honduras that gives free performances and theatre workshops for the poor, in an attempt to help them express their lives and problems. Concerning his role as Jesuit and as a promoter of theatre among the poor, Warner has said: "Art and religion spring from our need to be in touch with something beyond the littleness we feel as human beings."


  • Greg Burke '78, former reporter for Time magazine and Fox News in their Rome bureaus; also held position as Head of the Holy See Press Office. Currently Senior Media Adviser/Vatican Secretariat of State.
  • Robert Jackson '52, investigative reporter with the Washington bureau of the Los Angeles Times; Backer Award recipient
  • George Michael '57, sportscaster for The George Michael Sports Machine

Medicine & Research

  • Michael R. DeBaun, M.D., M.P.H. '78, Pediatrician, Sickle-cell disease expert and 2004 Backer Award Recipient. He is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine.
  • Phillip M. Farrell MD, PhD. '61, expert on cystic fibrosis and Dean of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Medical School


Scholars & Scientists

  • Joseph L. Badaracco '66, eminent professor of business ethics at Harvard University
  • Barnaby Faherty, S.J. '31, eminent historian and author of more than fifty books, one of which, "A Wall for San Sebastian" (1962), was the basis for the 1968 film La Bataille de San Sebastian starring Anthony Quinn and Charles Bronson
  • Gary Gutting '60, eminent professor of philosophy at the University of Notre Dame. In his role as a public intellectual has engaged the famed evolutionary biologist and atheist, Richard Dawkins, in debate.
  • Dennis W. Jansen '75, eminent professor of economics at Texas A&M University, and expert on the Federal Reserve System
  • Robert J. Scherrer '77, eminent professor of theoretical physics, developer of a model that explains dark matter and dark energy as two aspects of a single force, chair of Vanderbilt University's Department of Physics and Astronomy, author of many science fiction works, and 2010 winner of the Klopsteg Memorial Award
  • Keith Schwab '86, quantum physicist and head of Schwab Research Group at Caltech. Conducts pathbreaking work concerning quantum nature of the physical world and concerning nanotechnology.



In August 2019, SLUH unveiled the Alumni Trailblazers display to celebrate the achievements of graduates of color, including Eric Clark '83 (pictured). Learn more and nominate an alumnus via the link below.